President’s Message – October 2015

From the Blog

President’s Message – October 2015


We are coming to the end of the 2015 season with just a few events left. Over the next few weeks we’ve got the Mines Road Fun Run, our season finale Autocross at Alameda, an appreciation dinner for our volunteers, a board meeting and a Boxster Brunch. This year has been packed with some amazing activities for our Golden Gate Region members. I hope you’ve had a great time this year and look forward to seeing lots of you at track events in 2016.

A Thank You to Bill Benz

Bill_BenzAs many of you may know, Bill Benz died on September 30 at the age of 73. Bill had served as president, treasurer, secretary, competition director, and instructor of the Golden Gate Region Porsche Club of America and was its current secretary.

At the most recent board meeting we held a moment of silence and then each of us discussed how Bill had touched our lives and how much he would be missed. We remembered how he was often seen at DE, Autocross and social events and how much fun he had at the mock trial we conducted at the volunteer appreciation event a couple of years ago. Bill always had a smile on his face when he talked about one of his Porsches or the Golden Gate Region club.

In honor of Bill’s longtime the board has decided to create the William H. Benz Perpetual Autocross Trophy. This trophy will be awarded annually to the highest points winner in the highly competitive autocross series. In commemoration of Bill’s love of 356s, this trophy will also include a 356 steering wheel.


The 2016 Board of Director election results are in and we have winners. You, our Golden Gate Region members are the winners, you’ve elected a great and dedicated group of volunteers for the board in 2016. The results are:


Position Votes Cast

Andrew Forrest

President 118

Michael Griffin

Vice President 117

Cheryl Klein

Secretary 118

Richard French

Track Chair 118

Thorben Primke

Webmaster 118

Please join me in wishing each of the newly elected Board members success in their respective positions for the next 2 years beginning in January 2016.

Comments are closed.