December Zone 7 Report

From the Blog

December Zone 7 Report

We just wrapped up the Zone 7 series for 2016 with an awards banquet on 11/5 at the Clarion Hotel in Concord. The evening event followed a daylong meeting of the region presidents of Zone 7. I would like to highlight some of the many winners within the Zone. When you meet these winners, please congratulate them!

First, one of the highest honors in Zone 7 is the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is not given out every year and has not been given out since 2009. The recipient of the award went to Rik Larson of Sacramento Valley Region. Rik has been serving his region, Zone 7 and PCA National since he joined in the early 1970’s. Rik is still active in his region with a monthly article. He is currently the Zone 7 Secretary and also on the national Parade committee. Thank you, Rik, for 40+ years of service.

The presidents in Zone 7 vote on Zone 7 Wall of Fame inductees. SVR nominated a member and this year put Kim Nelson’s name forward for his continued support of the region, Concours and 356 groups. Kim will receive a special Silver Name tag given to all Wall of Fame winners.

For “Event of the Year” honors, it had to go to CRAB hands down. CRAB brought 250+ Zone 7 members together for a fun filled weekend. From the crab feed to the rally, autocross, funkana, airshow and so much more packed into the weekend. Can’t wait until 2018 for the next CRAB.

Vern Thomas, Autocross Chair and Les Schreiber, Concours Chair helped present awards for 2016 to the year’s winners. Along with the class winners there were some special winners within the Autocross and Concours series.

For Autocross the 2016 Men’s PAX Winner is Andrew Blyholder, GGR and the Women’s PAX Winner is Anita Benzing, RR. Men and women out there, these are the two to beat next year! Also honored was Tosh Yumae, SVR who received the Tenacity Award. Not only did Tosh win his class, he attended all the events and is always there to help set up, tear down and everything in between. You go Tosh!

On to Concours awards for 2016 of which we gave out 13 class awards which we are hoping to push for 20 in 2017. The Rookie of the Year trophy went to the husband and wife team, Simone and Thorston Kopitzki, RR. The Dick Cottrell “Spirit of the Concours” award went to Phil Snowdon, MBR. The last Concours award is the “Carol Kliendeinst Memorial Trophy” which goes to the highest score. This year’s winner scored 1000 out of 1000 points for his 2006 Silver GTS 911, Phil Snowdon, MBR.

Along with the trophies there were plenty of door prizes given away provided by Groits Garage, Pelican Parts, Werks Reunion, PCA National, and PCNA. I would like to thank all the donors!

That wraps up the year for 2016. I hope to see many more of you out to snag some these Zone awards in 2017. Watch for the 2017 Zone Calendar coming out soon!

Drive Safe,

Sandy Provasi

Zone 7 Rep

Comments are closed.